Subscribe to our mailing list to get news, specials and updates:     Name: Email:

The Saint Luke Organ Book (2005)

686 views | Find this title on Sheet Music Plus
Login to recommend piece!

Comments (4)

Comment on this music

Login/Register to post a comment.

Latest Thread

ISO "ImproWachetAuf"

Uploaded by: CarsonCooman (11/09/12)
Composer: Pinkham, Daniel
Sample Producer: Sonus Paradisi
Sample Set: Velesovo
Software: Hauptwerk IV
Genre: Contemporary
1. Processional
2. In Nomine
3. A Psalm
4. And all the Company of Heaven
5. Sabbath Rest
6. The Bells

Daniel Pinkham (1923–2006) was one of the leading American composers for organ in the second half of the 20th century. Born in Lynn, Massachusetts, Pinkham spent his active career as a composer, organist, harpsichordist, teacher (at the New England Conservatory), and conductor in the Boston, Massachusetts area, serving for 42 years as music director at King’s Chapel. Pinkham provided the following notes about this work:

“This set of pieces was composed for a modern copy of the English-built chamber organ in Historic Saint Luke’s Church in Isle of Wight County, Virginia.

1. "Processional" is cast in the tempo of a Pavanne, a dance popular in Tudor England and which survived into the first Stuart era.

2. English composers of the 16th and 17th centuries composed hundreds of instrumental works entitled "In Nomine." All were based on the Sarum Rite antiphon, Gloria tibi Trinitas, which is sung at First Vespers on Trinity Sunday. The title, In Nomine, is a fragment of the Benedictus, [Blessed is he who comes] in the name [of the Lord]. In my setting the antiphon is heard in slow-moving notes and is decorated by a garland of lively notes of smaller value in the upper voice.

3. "A Psalm" is a brief plaintive melody accompanied by slow moving chords.

4. "And all the Company of Heaven" begins with a festive dance rhythm in triple meter. In the middle section a serene chorale tune emerges. The two materials are combined and the opening triple meter dance rhythm concludes the movement.

5. "Sabbath Rest" requires two key-weights to hold down the keys e1 and a1. This allows the hands the freedom to explore the extremes of both high and low registers and to discover unsuspected sonorities.

6. All the bells in the churches of the great city ring out the good news.”

Published by ECS Publishing ( — #6599
Performance: Live
Recorded in: Stereo
Options: Sign up today to download piece.
Subscribe to CarsonCooman's music
See what CarsonCooman used to make this recording